I’m working on it!

Sometimes it gets a bit rough for me to keep up on this whole blogging thing. After last quarter’s 24 credit hour schedule at school, my brain really needed some down time to decompress and live in the moment for a bit. I can’t even guarantee that I’ll be able to keep posting on a regular basis, but I’ll do periodic updates until my next adventure looms.

So what was I up to?

I ate a couple of fancy things, like these beautiful cupcakes from Jean-Phillipe Patisserie in Aria…

And fought the crowds (way too crowded) at LV’s Lucky Rice event in search of Asian vittles. I also generally laid low, catching up on things like Breaking Bad and exploding things in the desert with my brother.

Now, school has started back after my much-needed hiatus, and I’m back to the hustle and bustle leading up to my graduation on the 20th of September. I also got a new job that I’m absolutely thrilled about, I’ll be cooking at Joel Robuchon at the Mansion, Las Vegas’ only 3 Michelin starred restaurant, under chef Claude LeTohic.

I’m thrilled and kind of still hovering in a state of disbelief about it. It’s an amazing restaurant, Chef Le Tohic has a really wonderful demeanor in the kitchen to go along with his inspiring accomplishments and cuisine, and Robuchon has been my idol for some time.

 

I had the great pleasure of meeting Mr. Robuchon a couple of years ago when he gave a talk at my school. I remember nervously handing him my book with shaking hands, pleading with my eyes for a signature because I had conveniently forgotten every word I know in French at just the moment when they would have come in handy. When I worked at Quique Dacosta, he came in one night for dinner, and I had the pleasure of being on the kitchen team cooking for him. My first introduction to his cuisine was at this very restaurant way back when I first started culinary school, when my mother had come to visit. I remember eating in awe, wondering if I could ever aspire to work at a place so technical and beautiful.

Suffice to say, I’m honored to be given the chance at this position and look forward to working in their amazing kitchen. I’m sure I’ll learn a mountain of new things! The last couple years have certainly been crazy, I’m still wondering if it’s all for real.

So that’s what’s been going on. Some awesome things, some down time, lots of studying, lots of wondering what’s coming next.

Viva Las Vegas!

About Athena Thickstun

Athena is currently completing her bachelors degree at the Art Institute of Las Vegas. She went to Spain originally to stage in and write about restaurante Martin Berasategui for 6 months, a 3-Michelin starred restaurant in Lasarte, near San Sebastian in Pais Vasco. Becoming enamoured with the country and the people, she extended her stay to work at Quique Dacosta's 2-Michelin starred restaurant in Denia, near Valencia and Alicante. Her experience prior to the restaurants in Spain includes working at Mario Batali's B & B Ristorante, brief stages at restaurants by Joel Robuchon, Alain Ducasse, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, and Thomas Keller, all in Las Vegas. She has also interned with both the Food Network and PBS Television, as well as studying cuisine in Orvieto, Italy at the Zeppelin Ristorante and classes at the Bocuse Institute in Lyon, France. Athena is currently pursuing her bachelor's degree in Culinary Management at the Art Institute of Las Vegas, as well as sommelier certification through the ISG. When she's not cooking, Athena enjoys writing, hiking, Indi films, vineyards, museums, travel, and eating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment