41: Ferran and Albert Adria’s cocktail bar

I had wanted ever since I stepped foot in Spain to try Tickets, the Adria’s newly opened tapas bar in Barcelona, but getting a reservation requires navigating their website and nabbing a spot at least 2 months in advance. When you travel in a sort of laissez-faire fashion as I do, dates and times tend to be a bit… fluid.

Alas, being of a capricious and bull-headed nature, I was determined to attempt an entry, to besiege them with laments of an American cocinera traveling alone through the country, dying to try the master’s work.

Upon arriving at the door and pleading my case, I was shot down immediately by the maitre’d.

I was a bit flabbergasted, and unsure what to do next, stood outside the door in a sad state of rejection.

Fortunately, the guy seemed to have a change of heart at my demeanor, and as I started to walk away, he called to me, telling me to wait just one moment.

Heart aflutter, I stood in quiet anticipation.

“We have no open spaces, but the bartender at 41′ (the cocktail bar attached to Tickets) ‘has agreed to slide you in an extra stool”

I’m not really sure, but I may have done a giddy dance or leapt slightly into the air, but that’s all speculation.

The interior was sooth and cool, rather open for such a small space.

The bar was hip and modern, and a good portion of the dishes were plated by a stoic looking, handsome blond bartender right in front of you.

Time for a cocktail. This one was called “Mars Attacks”, and avid Tim Burton fan that I am, it was of course the first thing I ordered. It had a balance of sweet, sour, smokey, and fruity flavors, aromatic with the scent of toasted popcorn and the sprig of fresh fennel on top. It was a perfect drink.

I moved on to oysters, feeling indulgent. On the right was black garlic and miso, on the left pearls of ginger.

Tuna belly “sushi”, nestled atop a soft cloud of nori meringue, with those happy ginger pearls.

What’s this?

Why, a jar of “olives”! Spheres that burst in your mouth with an intense burst of briny goodness.

Start keeping count. This was an Aviator cocktail, a classic, perfectly balanced.

Faux pistachios. A cream of pistachio encased in the thinnest layer of  pistachio flavored cocoa butter. Addictive.

“Curry worms”, Canadian wild rice, cooked then puffed in the fryer. Great snack with a cocktail.

Tuna tartar with crunchy quinoa in a crispy nori cone. Delicious!

Another El Bulli classic, spherified mozzarella. Fantastic, one of those treats you wish you had a steady supply of. Seriously, I could have eaten this all night! (I’m not a cheese-aholic, I swear!)

Very hip play on a taco. Crispy pork cracklins’ inside crunchy phyllo, tomato salsa, and avocado.

An homage to Nordic flavors. Thin rye toast, raw Kobe beef, pickled shallots, fennel and borage, cream cheese, and powdered oil.

I wish I had a better picture of this, alas, I do not. Don’t blame the cocktails, blame my excitement to ravage this seared foie on a cloud of tonka bean air, with wasabi and nori, and a paper-thin slice of pear. Seriously, this is a flavor I might give my left pinkie to have again. Goddamn delicious.

Having never had the privilege of dining at El Bulli, I was enthralled to see more classics of that iconic spot on the menu. Jamon toast. Light as air bread, crisp outside but hollow in the middle, wrapped in melted, too-good-to-be-true jamon fat. Joder.

Don’t remember the name of this one, but it combined basil and vanilla into a happy, alcoholic matrimony.

Brioche with truffled cheese. Sent me back to Orvieto. Also splendid.

Parmeggiano ice cream sandwich, with parmeggiano crackers. Do you have to ask?

A cocktail of coffee and tonka, to of my favorite flavors in the universe!

Perfect macarons, in the front, raspberry, the best I’ve ever had. Like picking them off the bush in my Grandma’s backyard. Beautiful flood of memories with each bite. Thanks guys.

In the back, chocolate, the flavor of brownie batter ready for the oven.

Coconut and lime marshmallows. Need to create modernist s’mores…

Profiteroles, of blackcurrant, with a cream cheese filling. Tasty bastards.

My neighbor’s dessert, “Bosque”, made for two. Reminded me of making the little “Bosque Animado”s at Quique, but a sweet version. I’m sure it was tasty.

I was beyond thrilled to have been able to have this experience, and also gained a lot of confidence from it. How so?

As each course came out, I realized that I knew the methods behind their construction, and asked a lot of questions of the staff. They were very happy to share information with me, and seemed surprised that I was familiar with their techniques. Knowing the basis of these dishes could be the key to very cool things in the future, and I have Quique Dacosta to thank for that.

And the Adrias, for starting it all.

Adeu!

 

About Athena Thickstun

Athena is currently completing her bachelors degree at the Art Institute of Las Vegas. She went to Spain originally to stage in and write about restaurante Martin Berasategui for 6 months, a 3-Michelin starred restaurant in Lasarte, near San Sebastian in Pais Vasco. Becoming enamoured with the country and the people, she extended her stay to work at Quique Dacosta's 2-Michelin starred restaurant in Denia, near Valencia and Alicante. Her experience prior to the restaurants in Spain includes working at Mario Batali's B & B Ristorante, brief stages at restaurants by Joel Robuchon, Alain Ducasse, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, and Thomas Keller, all in Las Vegas. She has also interned with both the Food Network and PBS Television, as well as studying cuisine in Orvieto, Italy at the Zeppelin Ristorante and classes at the Bocuse Institute in Lyon, France. Athena is currently pursuing her bachelor's degree in Culinary Management at the Art Institute of Las Vegas, as well as sommelier certification through the ISG. When she's not cooking, Athena enjoys writing, hiking, Indi films, vineyards, museums, travel, and eating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 41: Ferran and Albert Adria’s cocktail bar

  1. Pingback: Echoes… The Bazaar by Jose Andres | athenathickstun

Leave a comment