La Mosquita, Cordoba

Having somehow pulled myself away from El Puerto de Santa Maria against the protests of my friend, I once again hit the road, this time bound for Lisbon, Portugal.

There was one special stop to be made along the way though, to behold a wonder I’ve wanted to see for many years, La Mosquita, or, the Great Mosque in Cordoba.

It’s impossible to describe with words, and vain attempts to catalogue it in pictures do the place no justice. Standing in the giant space, marble columns and delicate, red-striped arches extending as far as you can see, made me feel like a tiny little speck, albeit a grateful one for the chance to behold such a marvel of architecture.

I’ve included a gallery of some of the better photos I took while there, but please note that the mosque is far and away more beautiful than I could ever hope to capture with my meager photography skills.

On a sadder note, I was just informed by a friend and fellow traveler Mr. Cordi that a horrible flood has devastated another of my favorite places in Europe, the Cinque Terre. I didn’t see it covered in any of the usual American news outlets, but I hope that the Italians can salvage Monterosso and Vernazza for future generations.

That’s all for today.

Ciao!

About Athena Thickstun

Athena is currently completing her bachelors degree at the Art Institute of Las Vegas. She went to Spain originally to stage in and write about restaurante Martin Berasategui for 6 months, a 3-Michelin starred restaurant in Lasarte, near San Sebastian in Pais Vasco. Becoming enamoured with the country and the people, she extended her stay to work at Quique Dacosta's 2-Michelin starred restaurant in Denia, near Valencia and Alicante. Her experience prior to the restaurants in Spain includes working at Mario Batali's B & B Ristorante, brief stages at restaurants by Joel Robuchon, Alain Ducasse, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, and Thomas Keller, all in Las Vegas. She has also interned with both the Food Network and PBS Television, as well as studying cuisine in Orvieto, Italy at the Zeppelin Ristorante and classes at the Bocuse Institute in Lyon, France. Athena is currently pursuing her bachelor's degree in Culinary Management at the Art Institute of Las Vegas, as well as sommelier certification through the ISG. When she's not cooking, Athena enjoys writing, hiking, Indi films, vineyards, museums, travel, and eating.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment